banner

Great Lakes Watershed Institute 2008

Great Lakes Watershed Institute Home

Archive
2008 Great
Lakes Watershed Investigations Institute

Agenda

Presenters

Syllabus

Photos

Teaching Units

Presenters

Great Lakes Watershed Investigations Teacher Institute

June 23-27, 2008

 

Name

Contact Information

Presentation Title

Joan Chadde

Western U. P. Center for Science, Math &Environ Educ.
105 Dillman – Michigan Technological University
1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI  49931
Tel :  (906) 487-3341     Email :  jchadde@mtu.edu

 

Workshop Coordinator

Stream Monitoring Watershed Management

Brian Carlson

The Nature Conservancy (in Michigan's UP)

109 West Baraga Avenue, Suite B, 
Marquette, MI  49855
Tel: (906) 225-0399      Email: bcarlson@tnc.org            
Website: http://nature.org/michigan

Habitat Conservation in the Great Lakes Region

Dr. Rod Chimner

School of Forest Resources and Environmental Sciences
114 Noblet Building – MTU
1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI  49931
Tel: 906. 487.1464     Email: rchimner@mtu.edu

Wetlands Ecologist

Dr. Jackie Grant

School of Forest Resources and Environmental Sciences
172 Horner Hall -- Michigan Technological University
1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI  49931
Tel: 906. 487.1093      Email: jbgrant@mtu.edu

Amphibian Ecology

Dr. Casey Huckins

Dept Biological Sciences
716 Dow -- Michigan Technological University
1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI  49931
Tel: (906) 487-2475      Email: cjhuckin@mtu.edu

Fisheries & Coaster Brook Trout Recovery

Bob Kahl

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
1921 Industrial Parkway, Marquette, MI  49855
Email: robert_kahl@fws.gov
Phone: 906-226-1211

Aquatic Exotics of the Great Lakes

Linda Kersten

Dept of Civil and Environmental Engineering
857 Dow - MTU
1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI  49931
Email: ldkerste@mtu.edu

Watershed Management

Erik Lilleskov

USDA Forest Service, North Central Research Station
410 Mac Innes Drive
Houghton, MI 49931
Tel: (906) 482-6303 x 18    Email: elilleskov@fs.fed.us

Monitoring Non-Native Species

Dr. Tom Pypker

School of Forest Resources and Environmental Sciences
110 Noblet Building – MTU
1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI  49931
Tel: 906. 487.1089     Email: tgpypker@mtu.edu

Watershed Hydrology

Pat Toczydlowski
& Evan McDonald

Keweenaw Land Trust
P.O. Box 750, Houghton MI  49931
Tel: 906-482-0820         
Website: www.KeweenawLandTrust.org              
Email: info@keweenawlandtrust.org

Land Conservation

Dr. Noel Urban

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
857 Dow Michigan Technological University
1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI  49931
Tel: (906) 487-3640     Email: nurban@mtu.edu

Limnology

Jon Yoder

Northwest Center for Sustainable Resources
North Salem High School
Email:  yoder_jon@salkeiz.k12.or.us

Community-Based Education

  • This institute is made possible with a grant from theMichigan Dept of Environmental Quality Coastal Management Program and the Michigan Space Grant Consortium

    ♦ Coordinated by the Western Upper Peninsula Center for Science, Mathematics and Environmental Education and Michigan Technological University


  • Last Update: July 7, 2008

    Copyright © 2008 Western Upper Peninsula Center for Science, Mathematics and Environmental Education
    Michigan Technological University
    Educational Uses Permitted, giving credit to WUP Center

    If you have any problems or comments, contact the page designer and webmaster.
    E-mail E.H.Groth, Webmaster


    If you have any problems or comments, contact the webmaster.
    Email Webmaster ehgroth@mtu.edu