Click to WUP Center Home

Family Science, Math & Engineering Night Schedule ~ Fall 2013-Spring 2014    

2013-14 School Year (PDF File)

The Western U.P. Center for Science, Math & Environmental Education and Michigan Tech University will partner to offer family science & engineering nights for elementary schools in Houghton, Baraga, Gogebic & Ontonagon Counties.
To schedule a date, please contact:  Joan Chadde   Tel: 906.487.3341 or Email: jchadde@mtu.edu

Events ~ Fall 2013


#
Date

School

Time

School Contact

1

Tuesday, Sept. 24
Family Technology Night

Portage Lake Library
482-4570

6:30-8 pm

Chris Alquist

2

Thursday, Sept. 26
Family Forest Night

Lake Linden-Hubbell Elementary School

6:30-8 pm

Craig Sundblad

3

Tuesday, Oct 15
Family Sci & Physics Night

Barkell Elementary
(Hancock)

6:00-7:30 pm

Howard Parmentier

 

Thursday, Oct. 17
Water Festival

Great Lakes Research Center

8:30-11:30 am
11:45-3:00 pm

Joan Chadde

 

Tuesday, Oct. 22
STEM Festival

MTU Memorial Union Building (MUB) Ballroom

Noon -2:30 PM & 3:30-5 PM

Joan Chadde

4

Thursday, Nov. 7
Family Science/Engin Night

Arvon School
(Michelle Miller coordinate)

6:00-7:30 pm

Lori Johnson

5

Tuesday, Nov 19
Family Science/Engin Night

Wakefield-Marinesco

6:00-7:30 pm CST

Kathy Makela

 

Monday, Nov. 25
Family Engineering

Harrison Park K-8 School
(Grand Rapids Public Schools)
SHPE Chapter

6:00-7:30 pm

Gwen Heatley

6

Tuesday, Dec. 3
Family Science Night

Ewen-Trout Creek

6:00-7:30 pm

Lynn Maki makily@etc.k12.mi.us

Events ~ Spring 2014


1

Tuesday, Feb 4
Family Science/Engin Night

CLK Elementary School

6:00-7:30 pm

Karyn King

2

Tuesday, Feb 18
Family Science/Engin Night

Houghton Elementary

6:00-7:30 pm

Anders Hill ahill@houghton.k12.mi.us

 

Tuesday, Feb. 25
Family Transportation Night

Ocean Springs Elem.
(Mississippi)

 

Mary Rodgers

3

Tuesday, March 4 

Barkell Elementary

6:00-7:30 pm

Howard Parmentier

 

March 10-14
NSBE Altern. Spring Break

Detroit Public Schools

6:00-7:30 pm

Alycia Meriweather

4

Tues, March 18 
Family Science/Engin Night

Dollar Bay Elementary

6:00-7:30 pm

Bill Rivest

 

Tues, March 25
WUP Science Fair & Festival

MTU Memorial Union Building (MUB)

4:00-8:00 pm

Shawn Oppliger
Western U.P. Center

5

Tues., April 8
Family Science/Engin Night

Ontonagon Elementary

6:00-7:30 pm

Kirsten Menigoz kmenigoz@oasd.k12.mi.us

6

Tuesday, April 15
Family Science/Engin Night

Ewen-Trout Creek

 

6:00-7:30 pm

Lynn Maki makily@etc.k12.mi.us

 

Tuesday, April 22
Lake Superior Celebration

Lake Superior Stewardship Initiative

6:00-8:00 PM

Open to All
MTU GLRC

 

Wed., April 23
Environmental Fair, KBOCC

Keweenaw Bay Indian Community

8:30 am – 3 pm

Erin Johnston ejohnston@kbic-nsn.gov

7

Thursday, April 24
Family Science/Engin Night

Washington School (Bessemer)

6:00-7:30 pm CST

Diane Hansen

 

2013-14 School Year (PDF File)