Ecology of the Great Lakes

ESMIS Course ~ July 13-18, 2003

 

Name

Contact Information

Presentation Topic

Dr. Nancy Auer

 

 

Department of Biological Sciences

732 Dow Environmental Sciences Bldg.

Michigan Technological University

1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI 49931

Phone: (906) 487-2353 Email: naauer@mtu.edu

Great Lakes Fisheries

 

Monitoring Great Lakes Sturgeon

Gregg Baldwin

& Bob Kahl

 

 

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

1921 Industrial Parkway, Marquette, MI 49855

Email: gregg_baldwin@fws.gov

Phone: 906-226-1211

Aquatic Exotics Nuisance Species of the Great Lakes

Dr. Judy Budd

Department of Geological Sciences & Engineering

429 Dow Environmental Sciences Bldg.

Michigan Technological University

1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI 49931

Phone: (906) 487-2590 Email: jrbudd@mtu.edu

Remote Sensing in the Great Lakes

Joan Chadde

Course Coordinator

 

Western U. P. Center for Science, Mathematics & Environmental Education

105 Dillman Michigan Technological University

1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI 49931

Tel : (906) 487-3341 Email : jchadde@mtu.edu

1) Great Lakes Classroom Activities

2) Stream Monitoring

3) Frogs As Bioindicators

4) Community Planning in Shoreline Communities

 

Dr. Shari Dann

 

Department of Fisheries & Wildlife

11B Natural Resources Building, Michigan State University

E. Lansing, MI 48824

Tel: 517-353-0675 Email: sldann@pilot.msu.edu

Aquatic Exotics

 

Environmental Education Teaching Methods

Dr. Matt Julius

**Lead Course Scientist

 

Dept. of Biological Sciences

225 Mathematics & Science Center

St. Cloud State University

720 Fourth Ave. South, St. Cloud, MN 56301-4498

Tel: (320)529-6684 Email: julius@stcloudstate.edu

1) Limnology: The Study of Lakes

2) Light, Temperature & Water Chemistry of Lakes

3) Phytoplankton&

Zooplankton

 

Charlie Kerfoot

 

Dept. of Biological Sciences

722 Dow Environmental Sciences Bldg.

Michigan Technological University

1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI 49931-1295

Tel: 906-487-2769 Email: wkerfoot@mtu.edu

Great Lakes Research

 

Copper Country Tour

Kristan Schuster

Hancock High School math/science teacher

Home: 149972 Donken Rd., Pelkie, MI 49958

Email: schu_10@yahoo.com

Frogs As Bioindicators

Dr. Noel Urban

Dept. of Civil & Environmental Engineering

870 Dow Environmental Sciences Bldg.

Michigan Technological University

1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI 49931-1295

Tel: 906-487-3640 Email: nurban@mtu.edu

Biogeochemical Processes & Benthic Communities

Ken Vrana

Center for Maritime & Underwater Resource Management
P.O. Box 158, Laingsburg, MI  48848
Tel: 989-834-0007 Fax: 834-0112

Email: vranaken@pilot.msu.edu

Use of Unmanned Vehicles in Underwater Exploration and Aquatic Science

 

 


Other Michigan Tech University Contacts on Lake Superior & the Great Lakes:

 

Dr. Judith Perlinger

Dave Tobias, M.S.

Dept. of Civil & Environmental Engineering

870 Dow Environmental Sciences Bldg.

Michigan Technological University

1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI 49931-1295

Tel: 906-487-3641 Email: jperl@mtu.edu detobias@mtu.edu

Air & Water Toxins

Mark Gleason

 

Isle Royale Institute

Fisher Hall Michigan Technological University

1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI 49931

Tel: (906) 487-1980 Email: gleason@mtu.edu

Isle Royale National Park