Western Upper Michigan Science Center

Great Lakes Maritime Home
Education Chest Contents
Application form (PDF)
Where to borrow a chest

Michigan Tech
GLMRI

Great Lakes Maritime Transportation Education Program
for Communities and K-12 Teachers & Students

Great Lakes Shipping Education “Chest”
Printable PDF File Version of Great Lakes Shipping Education “Chest” & Application form

Great Lakes Maritime Transportation Education Treasure Chest  ~  Recipients’ Location & Contact Info
(as of 2/25/09) (Treasure chests may be checked out by educators and classroom teachers; please contact the site nearest you)

Great Lakes Maritime Education Treasure Chest  ~ Lending Sites  (as of 1.31.14)

 

Contact Person

Email / Phone

Site

Great Lake

State

1

Beth Landers
Tel: 440-3502730

blanders@lakecountyhoio.gov

Lake Co. Soil & Water Cons. District
125 E. Erie St.
Painesville, OH  44077

Lake Erie

Ohio

2

Wendy Lutzke
Tel: 866-724-2356  Ext.115

wlutzke@wisconsinmaritime.org

Wisconsin Maritime Museum
75 Maritime Dr., Manitowoc, WI  54220

Lake Michigan

Wisconsin

3

Tami Schacknies
Tel: 269-471-7725 X.1124

tschackn@remc11.k12.mi.us

Berrien Co. Intermediate School District
711 St. Joseph Ave.
Berrien Springs, MI  49103

Lake Michigan

Michigan

4

Meaghan Black
Education Specialist
Tel: 989-356-8805 Ext. 25

meaghan.black@noaa.gov

Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary
500 W. Fletcher St.
Alpena, MI  49707

Lake Huron

Michigan

5

Rachel Randolph
Museum outreach coord.
Tel: 906-492-3747

rachel@shipwreckmuseum.com
 

Great Lakes Shipwreck Historical Society
18335 N. Whitefish Pt. Rd.
Paradise, MI  49768

Lake Superior

Michigan

6

Christine Gerlach
Education Specialist
Tel: 219-395-1885

christine_gerlach@nps.gov

Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore
1100 N. Mineral Springs Rd.
Porter, IN  46304

Lake Michigan

Indiana

7

Tammy Barrientos
Director
Tel: 989-964-4117

tarizola@svsu.edu

Saginaw Valley State University Regional Math/Science Center
7400 Bay Rd.,University Center, MI  48710

Lake Huron

Michigan

8

Mary George
Tel: 218-720-5260  X. 35272

Mary.T.George@usace.army.mil

Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center
600 Lake Ave. South, Duluth, MN  55802

Lake Superior

Minnesota (2)

9

Loret Roberts
Tel: 906-482-0331

loret@copperisd.org

Western UP Center for Science, Mathematics & Environmental Education
809 Hecla St., Hancock, MI  49930

Lake Superior

Michigan

10

Carolyn Rock

Park Interpreter

Tel: 920-823-2400

carolyn.rock@wisconsin.gov

Whitefish Dunes State Park
3275 Clark Lake Rd.
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235


Lake Michigan

Wisconsin

11

Carrie Fries

Tel: 906-226-2006

mqtmaritimemuseum@yahoo.com

Marquette Maritime Museum
300 Lakeshore Blvd.
Marquette, MI  49855

 

Lake Superior

Michigan

12

Dante Centuori

Tel: 216-696-2098

centuorid@glsc.org 

Great Lakes Science Center

601 Erieside Ave., Cleveland, OH  44114

 

Lake Erie

 

Ohio

13

Art Sulzer, Director
Tel: 202- 366-2625

Sulzmarine@aol.com

Maritime Academy Charter School
Ship Operations Cooperative Program
2 Peter Gamble Lane, Glen Mills, PA 19342

Lake Ontario

Pennsylvania

14

Joann Arasim
Tel: 517-373-1905

arasimj@michigan.gov

Michigan Historical Museum
702 W. Kalamazoo, Lansing, MI 48909-8240

Lake Huron 
Lake Michigan

Michigan

15
16

Gary Goren

Tel: 989-354-3101

goreng@amaesd.k12.mi.us

Alpena-Montmorency Area Educ. Services

2118 US-23, Alpena, MI 49707

Lake Huron - 2

Michigan  ( 2)

17

David Hales

Social Studies Consultant

Tel: 734-334-1311

halesd@resa.net

 

Wayne Co. RESA

33500 Van Born Road, Box 807

Wayne, MI 48184-2497

Lake Erie & Detroit River

Michigan

18

Rene Marrazon, Supt.
Tel: 419-244-9999

rmarazon@maritimeacademy.us

Maritime Academy of Toledo
1000 Monroe St., , Toledo, OH  43604

Lake Erie

Ohio

19

Carol Kubert , Admin.Asst
Tel: 586-228-3465

ckubert@misd.net

Macomb ISD
44001 Garfield Rd., Clinton Twp, MI  48038

Lakes Erie
 Lake Huron

Michigan

20

Tim Sweet
Library Media Specialist
Tel: 715-823-7215 ext.3233

tsweet@clintonville.k12.wi.us

Clintonville Public School District
105 S. Clinton Ave.
Clintonville, WI 54929

Lake Michigan

Wisconsin

21

Ruth Mancina
Marketing & Events Coord.
Tel: 989-752-2861 Ext. 315

rmancina@castlemuseum.org

Castle Museum of Saginaw Co.
500 Federal Ave.
Saginaw, MI 48607

Lake Huron

Michigan

22

David Boughton
Maritime Educ. Specialist
Tel: 814-217-9015

dbboughton@zoominternet.net

Pennsylvania Sea Grant
c/o Tom Ridge Environmental Ctr
301 Peninsula Drive, Suite 3, Erie, PA 16505

Lake Ontario

Pennsylvania

23

Rachel Maki, Science Advisor
Tel: 218- 492-4400 ext. 19

rachelmariehawley@hotmail.com

Northern Lights Community School

Lake Superior

Minnesota

24

Terry Toby, Site Manager
Tel: 218-226-6372
www.mnhs.org/splitrock

splitrock@mnhs.org

 

Split Rock Lighthouse - MN Historical Society
3713 Split Rock Lighthouse Rd.
Two Harbors, MN 55616

Lake Superior

Minnesota

25

Carol Ward
Park Naturalist

Tel: 216-881-8141  x3001

CLSP.Naturalist@dnr.state.oh.us

Cleveland Lakefront State Park

8701 Lakeshore Blvd.

Cleveland, OH 44108

Lake Erie

Ohio

26-27

Dean Haen, Director

Port of Green Bay

Tel: 920-492-4950

haen_dr@co.brown.wi.us

Brown Co. Port & Solid Waste Dept.
2561 So. Broadway
Green Bay, WI  54304

Lake Michigan x 2

Wisconsin x 2

28

Marie Nelsen, Secretary

Tel: 231-873-6340

mnelsen@hart.k12.mi.us

Hart Schools
302 W. Johnson St., Hart, MI 49420

Lake Michigan

Michigan

29

Sasha Tetzleff

www.sanduskymaritime.org

Tel: 419-624-0274

sanduskymaritime@bex.net
 

Maritime Museum of Sandusky
125 Meigs St.,
Sandusky, OH 44870-2834

Lake Erie

Ohio

30-31

Betty Nowak

Tel: 414-286-8131

bnowak@milwaukee.gov

Port of Milwaukee

2323 S. Lincoln Memorial Drive
Milwaukee, Wi  53207

Lake Michigan

Wisconsin (2)

32

Lisa Appel

Tel: 248-645-3223

lappel@cranbrook.edu

Cranbrook Institute of Science

39221 Woodward Ave.

Bloomfield Hills, MI  48303

Lake Erie

Michigan

33

Jane Wonders

Tel: 920-236-0532

jlevine@cesa6.org
 

CESA 6

PO Box 2568, 801 Elmwood Ave.

Oshkosh, WI  54942

Lake Michigan

Wisconsin

34

Joan Voigt

Joan.voigt@wisconsin.gov

Wild Rose Fish Hatchery – WI DNR

N5871 State Road 22, Wild Rose, WI  54984

Lake Michigan

Wisconsin

35

Stacy Tapp

Stacy.Tapp@rusd.org

Racine Unified School District

Mitchell Elementary School

2713 Drexel Aven., Racine, WI  53403

Lake Michigan

Wisconsin

36

Mike Reed

(313) 852-4056

mreed@dzs.org

Belle Isle Nature Zoo

176 Lakeside Dr., Detroit, MI 48207

Detroit R.

Michigan

37-38

Tobi Voigt

(313) 833-0481

tobiv@detroithistorical.org

Detroit Historical Society

Dossin Great Lakes Museum

5401 Woodward Ave., Detroit, MI  48202

Detroit R.

Michigan (3)

39-50

Kathryn Kwiatkowski

Center for Sci & Math Educ

Tel:  216-368-5075

Kmk21@case.edu

Case Western Reserve University

Guilford House 412, 10900 Euclid Ave.

Cleveland, OH  44106-7158

Lake Erie

Ohio (12)
Ben Franklin Elem.
Shiloh MS, Parma

47

Tamera Steele

tsteele@armitageacademy.org

Armitage Academy
6032 - 8th Ave., Kenosha, WI  53143

Lake Michigan

Wisconsin

48

Susannah Hamm

440-885-5362

sham@cuyahogalibrary.org

Cuyahoga County Public Library
Parma-South Branch, 7335 Ridge Rd.,
Parma, OH  44129

Lake Erie

Ohio

49

Jay Reynolds

216-687-2047

j.reynolds65@csu.edu

Cleveland State University
Biological-Geological Sciences Dept
2121 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH  44115

Lake Erie

Ohio

50

Taryn Carew

231-271-3077

tcarew@schoolship.org

Inland Seas education Association
100 Dame St., Suttons Bay, Mi  49682

Lake Michigan

Michigan

51

Jennifer Hansen

807-6242147

Jennifer@ecosuperior.org

EcoSuperior Environmental Programs
562 Red River Rd.
Thunder Bay, ON  P7B1H3

Lake Superior

Ontario

52

Sheri Walz

 

 

SheriA.Walz@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Ave., Rm 701
Madison, WI 53707-7914

Lake Michigan

Wisconsin

53-70

Alycia Meriweather

313-873-4519

alycia.meriweather@detroitk12.org

Detroit Math and Science Center
Fisher Building, 9th Floor, Detroit, MI 48202

Detroit River

Michigan

 

TOTAL

 

 

7-Superior
17-Michigan,
7-Huron
22- Erie;
 2-Ontario
20 - Detroit  River

41-MI, 2-PA, 1-ON
11-WI, 1-IN,
16-OH, 3-MN

70 total

 

Great Lakes Floor Map only

1

Loraine Austin

231-941-0960  Ext.23

laustin.gtcd@gmail.com

Grand Traverse Stewardship Initiative

Grand Traverse Conservation District

Lake Michigan

Michigan

2

Mike Mansour

mmansour001@comcast.net

National Project Learning Tree

 

Great Lakes

Michigan

3

Barbara Pepper

bp03bps@birmingham.k12.mi.us

Birmingham School District

Birmingham, MI  48013

Lake Erie & Detroit R.

Michigan

4

Pat Hartshorn

313-593-5277

bturowsk@umich.edu

University of Michigan Dearborn
4901 Evergreen Rd., Dearborn, MI 48128

Lake Erie & Detroit R.

Michigan

5

Betsy Kish

989-738-8663

kishe@michigan.gov

Port Crescent State Park
1775 Port Austin Road
Port Austin, MI 48467

Lake Huron

Michigan

6-9

Catherine Wood

 

 

Eagle Lake Elementary
69410 Section Street
Edwardsburg, MI  49112

Lake Michigan

Michigan

Lakes Superior Floor Map only

1

Erin Johnston

524-5757 ext. 24

ejohnston@kbic-nsn.gov  

Keweenaw Bay Indian Community

Natural Resources Dept.

14359 Pequaming Rd., L’Anse, MI 49946

Lake Superior

Michigan

2

CLK Elementary

(Melissa Schneiderhan)

mschneid@clkschools.org

Mine St.

Calumet, MI 49913

Lake Superior

Michigan

3

EB Holman School

(Jean Dunstan )

jeandunstan@yahoo.com

Stanton Twp.

50870 Holman Rd.,, Atlantic Mine, MI 49905

Lake Superior

Michigan

4

Western UP Center/CCISD

(Loret Roberts)

loret@copperisd.org

809 Hecla St., Hancock, MI  49930

Lake Superior

Michigan

5

Shannon Judd

shannonjudd@fdlrez.com

Fond du Lac Indian Reservation

 

Lake Superior

Wisconsin

Submit your completed application to:
Joan Chadde, jchadde@mtu.edu
K-12 Education & Outreach Program Coordinator
Lloyd Wescoat, lwescoat@mtu.edu
Education Program Assistant

Michigan Technological University
Center for Science & Environmental Education
Michigan Technological University
114-116 Great Lakes Research Center
1400 Townsend Dr., Houghton, MI 49931-1295
Tel: (906) 487-3341 Fax: (906) 487-1620

Printable PDF File Version of Great Lakes Shipping Education “Chest” & Application form


Last Update:06/17/2015

Copyright © 2008 Western Upper Peninsula Center for Science, Mathematics and Environmental Education
Michigan Technological University
Educational Uses Permitted, giving credit to WUP Center